Supreme Court of New Hampshire

Howard v. Dorr Woolen Co.

Robert R. Howard, III v. Dorr Woolen Company

120 N.H. 295 · 414 A.2d 1273 · 115 L.R.R.M. (BNA) 4578

Decided May 5, 1980

Good LawGood law: 16 citing cases carry treatments with no negative treatment.

Download PDF

SummaryHoldingsLater treatmentOpinion of the Court

Summary

The court held that neither the decedent’s estate nor his widow could recover damages, including the value of a group life-insurance policy, based on the alleged wrongful discharge. The estate’s pleadings did not allege a discharge in retaliation for conduct protected by public policy, and the widow’s potential contractual and insurance-based claims were independently defeated. The court dismissed the appeals and granted the employer’s motion to dismiss.

Holdings

  • Whether the administrator pleaded sufficient facts to maintain a wrongful-discharge action.. The administrator’s allegations were insufficient to state a wrongful-discharge claim because discharge based on age or sickness, without a connection to conduct protected or prohibited by public policy, does not fall within the narrow public-policy exception to employment-at-will principles. The allegation that the discharge was intended to deny accrued retirement benefits was disregarded because the benefits had already vested. 297
  • Whether the estate could recover the value of the group life-insurance policy.. The estate could not recover the insurance proceeds because the policy named Baldwin’s widow as beneficiary. 297-298
  • Whether the widow could maintain a claim as a third-party beneficiary or insurance beneficiary.. The widow could not maintain either claim. Her possible third-party-beneficiary claim was defeated by the narrow construction of the wrongful-discharge doctrine, and any right based on the insurance policy was lost when the policy terminated because premiums were not paid after Baldwin’s discharge. 298

Written by LawDiver's case analysis.

How later courts treated this case

91 opinions cite this case

  • Distinguished

    David Wenners v. Great State Beverages, Inc., 140 N.H. 100. Here, there has been no clear statutory intent to supplant the common-law cause of action.

  • Distinguished

    Pamela Douglas v. Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Northern New England, Inc., 855 F. Supp. 518. Court does not extend Howard to all common‑law causes.

  • Distinguished

    Shirley Crenshaw, Plaintiff and Respondent v. Bozeman Deaconess Hospital, Edwin E. Dahlberg, 213 Mont. 488. The Hospital may not assume that by adopting the earlier New Hampshire decision, this Court will accept the imposed limitation as well.

  • Cited

    Herbert Kopf v. Chloride Power Electronics, Inc.; Frederick M. Sturm, 882 F. Supp. 1183. cited in discussion of public‑policy exceptions

  • Explained

    Gerard J. Bourque v. the Town of Bow, 736 F. Supp. 398. The court uses this formulation as the second part of the governing test.

See all citing casesFilter by court, year and treatment in LawDiver. Free, no login.

In this case

Opinion of the Court

BOIS, J.

This appeal is a consolidation of three separate cases consisting of two interlocutory appeals and an appeal from the granting of a motion to dismiss by DiClerico, J. The principal issue is whether either the widow or the estate of the decedent is entitled to damages, including the value of a group term life insurance policy, for an alleged wrongful discharge by the defendant. We hold that neither is entitled to such damages, and dismiss the appeal.

According to the agreed statement of facts, Franklin C. Baldwin was employed by the defendant Dorr Woolen Company almost continuously from November 1952 to March 1975, at which time he was discharged for reasons of “economic necessity.” At the time of his discharge, Mr. Baldwin had vested retirement benefits under a company plan that he was not entitled to receive unless and until he reached the age of fifty-five. The defendant had also provided Mr. Baldwin with group term life insurance in the amount of $36,000, which he-was entitled to continue upon his discharge provided that he assume the premium payments. Mr. Baldwin was discharged at the age of fifty. He did not choose to keep the life insurance policy in effect because he allegedly could *297not afford to pay the premiums. Mr. Baldwin died one year after his discharge.

Laura M. Baldwin, the widow of Franklin C. Baldwin, was the named beneficiary in the insurance policy at issue. She and Robert R. Howard, III, administrator of the estate of Mr. Baldwin, brought these actions for wrongful discharge by the defendant, principally claiming damages in the amount of the life insurance policy.

The first issue is whether the estate of Mr. Baldwin has pleaded sufficient facts to maintain an action against the defendant. The administrator alleges that the defendant discharged Mr. Baldwin because of his age, his suffering from a debilitating condition of angina, and for the purpose of denying him his accrued retirement benefits. He argues that such allegations constitute a discharge motivated by bad faith, malice, or retaliation, and warrant recovery for breach of contract under Monge v. Beebe Rubber Co., 114 N.H. 130, 316 A.2d 549 (1974).

It is evident that the defendant did not discharge Mr. Baldwin for the purpose of denying him his accrued retirement benefits, as it is admitted by both parties that such benefits vested at the time of his discharge, but that he was not entitled' to recéív'e them unless and until he reached the age of fifty-five. We therefore disregard this allegation.

We also find the administrator’s reliance upon Monge v. Beebe Rubber Co. supra for the proposition that a discharge due to age or sickness warrants recovery is misplaced. We construe Monge to apply only to a situation where an employee' is discharged because he performed an act that public policy would encourage, or refused to do that which public policy would condemn. See, e.g., Ness v. Hocks, 272 Ore. 210, 536 P.2d 512 (1975) (employee discharged for accepting jury duty); cf. Whirlpool Corp. v. Marshall, 100 S. Ct. 883 (1980). A discharge due to sickness does not fall within this category and is generally remedied by medical insurance or disability provisions in an employment contract. Nor does discharge because of age fall within this narrow category. The proper remedy for an action for unlawful age discrimination is provided for by statute. See RSA 354-A:8 I (Supp. 1979), :9; 29 U.S.C. §§ 623, 626 (1976),^ Accordingly, the administrator’s claim must fail on the basis of his pleadings. We note, however, that even if the claim did not fail, the administrator would have no claim to insurance proceeds under the decedent’s *298policy in this case because there was a named beneficiary, Laura M. Baldwin, the decedent’s widow. See generally 44 Am. Jur. 2d Insurance § 1925 (1969).

The next issue is whether Laura M. Baldwin can maintain an action against the defendant. Any right of action she arguably had as a third party beneficiary under the employment contract between her deceased husband and the defendant is nullified by our narrow construction of Monge v. Beebe Rubber Co. supra. Furthermore, any right of action she may have had as a beneficiary under the insurance policy was lost when her husband chose to terminate it by not paying the premiums after his discharge. Accordingly, the present claim of Laura Baldwin against the defendant must also fail.

Plaintiffs’ appeals dismissed; defendant’s motion to dismiss is granted.

All concurred.

Research the next case the same way

Everything on this page, for any of 10 million opinions.

  • Search every way lawyers do

    Citation, case name, boolean with /s and /p, or a plain-English question. Free, no login.

  • See what still holds

    Every case shows how later courts treated it: followed, distinguished, limited or overruled.

  • Check a brief before you file

    CiteCheck reads your brief and flags cites that don't exist, don't match, or aren't good law.

  • Use it where you work

    The LawDiver connector brings real caselaw into Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor. An API for builders.

Try CiteCheck free or create a free account for AI research and saved folders

Related landmark cases

All landmark cases·Browse by topic